Cratery 11

1 12 2009

Kae&TheA

Cratery 11. We’re still going strong.  For this edition, me & Arcee (of the real frequency)

decided to give y’all a little more than just joints and a tracklisting this time. Being that it was both myself and Arcee’s birthday towards the end of the month, we decided to write something about the significance of each track played and how why we decided to put them on there.

enjoy.

1-AR: Minnie Riperton “Every time he comes around”
Probably my favourite Minnie Riperton joint.

2-K: David Axelrod-” A Divine Image”

When most people think of their favorite producers they rattle off names like “Preem,Extra P,Dre,RZA,et. al” and not that there’s a gotdamn thing wrong with that, I like to throw Axelrod in there just to confuse those not up on game.This LP was always considered a “grail” when I was coming up digging, and as herbed-out as that seems in hindsight , I’ve always felt as though that was a rightful title.

3. AR: Gil Scot Heron “Lady Day and John Coltrane”

I play this when it rains. This joint is like every shade of grey.

4-K: Donald Byrd-“Wind Parade”

as much as my selections this month are  verge on “spot-that-sample”, I do feel as though it’s important to shed light on the fact that I got my  start in looking for records through being curious about what was being used on my favorite rap records.

Plus, this joint has been a  classic from the moment it came out. Blaze an el to this one.

5- AR: Marvin Gaye/Life is for learning
I always have a new favourite Marvin joint.  Follow the bass player on this one.

6- K: The Reflections “(she’s my) Summer Breeze”

I got this 45 recently courtesy of the homie Catalist. The string/bassline interplay on this is incredible. Produced by  Mr. “Just Me & You”  himself J.R. Bailey, which explains why the string arrangement is so fire. PEEP. The joke about this record is that the hommie A.R just got the LP  and let’s just say, it’s not quite as good. 45 wins.

7. AR: Leroy Hutson “I think I’m falling in love”

Got caught trying to steal this, years ago in Detroit.  I don’t steal records any more.

8-K: Milton Wright-“Get No Lovin’ Tonight”

from the infamous “Friends & Buddies” LP on Alston, courtesy of  Johnbronski.This was one of the joints that really stuck with me when I first heard it, and changed my perception of post-’74 soul.There’s something really soulful, but kinda eerie about it, on some ARP shit.

9. AR: James Brown “You Mother You”

Tribe, Main Source, Pete Rock, Brand Nubian and Biz all enjoyed this album.  So do I.

10-K: Mock Duck-“Do-Re-Mi”

An extremely thoughtful gift from my friend Sipreano, who featured this same track on his stellar mix for Sandanista.One of my top 10 psych joints EVER. Everything about this song embodies why I like psych.Extra points for being from my place of birth (Vancity!).

11-AR: Cymande “The Recluse”

One of the first albums I was geeked on finding.  I play this song more than “Brothers on the Slide”.

12-The Silouhettes-“fonky first”

Got a package in the mail and opened it to find one my most sought-after LP’s (no eBay). Been looking for this record for let’s just say, a minute. Back in the day my homie Rudy was joking about the fact that Pete Rock had just flipped the record over for “Soul Brother no.1” (one side contains the vibe sample, while the other side had the break he used).Anyways, a gift from a good friend which will never leave the collection. This LP was produced by none other than Nathan Davis (diggers know). one of the best breaks EVER.

13-AR: Donovan “Get thy Bearings”
I love this record because it speaks to the genius of Biz’s digging.

14-K:Jean-Jacques Perry-E.V.A”

Got this record from legendary record dealer Ty Scammell out in Vancouver at “For The Record” in the flea market. Walked in, asked him if he had it, he said ‘yes’ and told me it would be $25. Came back the next week, it was sitting there,waiting for me in a crate. Unbeknownst to me, Birdapres (a fellow digger and future-friend) saw it that same day before I got there and was tryna get it offa Ty.   Do not get it twisted. This shit still knocks as hard as the day I first heard it. don’t front of the crunchy fuzz-guitar solo or the at the end, either.

“E……V…..A”

15. AR: Little Beaver “Let the good times roll”
Little Beaver is the master of partying below 80 bpm.  And his name is Little Beaver.

16-K:Alain Clavier-“Metadata”

Fuzzed out, weird,disturbing (distressed female vocals, anyone?), and straight-up DUSTED, this is a recent find-turned-favorite. Originally recorded for a short film of the same name for the National Film Board of Canada and released on their small label offering “Musique Pour NFB” this record is not only rare, but an esteemed artifact of Canada’s spirited electronic music history.

17-AR: Tania Maria “Come with me”
One of the first records that convinced to me start digging in the 80’s section.

18-K:Cortex-“Huit Octobre 1971”

Absolutely stunning. I think I said something on Twitter to  MTL digger/producer/hermit Simahlak about not knowing a lick of French and that that added to the “mystique” of the LP. He then responded in French. Jokes on me, Jack.This song completely slays in everyway possible. The Fender Rhodes and synth tones are dope & all, but I’ve always felt as though the drummer on this record is bananas. The way the kit was recorded really translated well, especially years later in the hip hop world, as producers embraced and devoured the LP out of the  French jazz-rock outfits 1st LP I think .Cheaper than Placebo, but not inexpensive, by any means (unless your on that bullshit reissue shit- in which case cop it, but don’t look at me when you see me in the street*)

19. AR: Bobbi Humphrey-“Fancy Dancer”
I’ve been going hard on some Mizell Brothers lately.  This one had to come back out.


20-K:Bayete (Todd Cochrane)- ‘Free Angela (thoughts and all I’ve got to say)”

This song is incredible. I would highly recommend copping his “Worlds Around The Sun”LP on Prestige. As someone that enjoys a good break, this joint’s got a really unique sounding beat on it. the room tone (word to Murr) is great on it.Definitely not your crispy SP 1200-type boom-bap joints, but effective nonetheless.Alot of people know this record (at least sample wise) as being the basis for Jay Electronica’s “Dear Moleskine”, but I gotta say I ride for the previous De La usage (“Sunshine” from “Stakes Is High”)

21-AR: Patrice Rushen-“Remind me”
Quintessential “AR Music”.  A classic.

22-K: Hodges,Jmaes & Smith- Found this LP on one of my wildest digging trips. but I’ll save that story for later.

I remember once there was a half-price sale at Ric’s years ago (I don’t fux with that place no more) and my homegirl Anousheh was there. She found it and proceeded to play a joint from it on the store turntable three times. I was like “damn, that’s kinda fire” and did the old remember-that-cover game. 20th Century records always had that sound.

. *joking.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 12 2009
blizzy

why are your links always fuct?

2 12 2009
kaeweezy

Link works fine, mang. Just checked it on 2 comp.’s…

11 12 2009
grandgroovedjs

The commentary alone makes you want to hear this mix! on one side you have Kae reflecting on some of his personal stories and then you have AR coming with the fantastic one liners! This definitely going to get peeped soon by myself!

–Big Jacks

Leave a Reply

